Dawn of August

The dog days of summer began in early July and end on August 11.   Don’t expect the heat to follow suit.

This quotation from author and philosopher Sam Keen explains August well:

“Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability.”

And BroJoe says, “Stick a fork in me. . . ”

photo 3 photo 2photo 1

Very similar words written centuries apart. . . .

Heat, ma’am! It was so dreadful here that I found there was nothing left for it but to take off my flesh and sit in my bones.  – Sydney Smith (1771-1845) in Memoir, Lady Holland

**********

It’s hot!
I’ve tried with ’lectric fans,
And pools and ice cream cones.
I think I’ll take my skin off
And sit around in my bones.

– Shel Silverstein

 

 

Leave a Reply

